Scientific Activities for Girls

Explore some of the activities we offer every week! A great way for girls to develop their scientific motivation while having fun!

Homework Help

From Monday to Thursday, Les Scientifines offers a homework help period of about 50 minutes. Girls can ask questions, receive explanations on certain concepts, learn tricks to memorize their lessons, understand how to organize their study sessions, etc.

Since we work better on a full stomach, the girls always receive a snack when they arrive!

Supervised Scientific Activities

This program is offered during the school year, free of charge, to girls in the 2nd and 3rd cycles of elementary school. It aims to promote STEM while developing different skills (e.g. perseverance, curiosity, assertiveness, teamwork, critical thinking, scientific approach, problem solving) in order to increase the power girls have on their lives and their chances of accessing careers in STEM related fields, or areas of work that are still predominantly occupied by men.

Junior Science Fair

The science fair is an ambitious and very enriching project for girls who participate in it. They must find a subject, formulate a question and a hypothesis. The girls then research their subject and prepare their visual material for presentation.Such a project allows girls to develop several skills including persistence, accuracy, synthesizing information, following the scientific method, etc. This experience also creates a sense of pride and accomplishment because after working on their project all year, the girls present, share and transmit their findings to a large public, including their family, classmates and teachers.

Teen Science Fair

The teen science fair program is an extracurricular project held every Monday and Friday from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. The program enables high school participants to develop critical thinking skills, resourcefulness and perseverance. These two time slots fit better in the busy schedule of teenagers and encourage the participation of a larger number of girls.
It is an adventure that allows them to explore in depth the scientific method!

Scientific Journal

This program is for girls in grades 5 and 6, as well as girls in high school. The main goal of this program is to enable them to develop a critical and ethical approach towards science. Girls research, synthesize and validate the information they find. They also make great efforts to improve their writing, syntax and spelling. Successfully writing a scientific article develops the girls' self-confidence and gives them a sense of pride, thereby increasing their self-assurance in facing new challenges. 
Girls research, synthesize and validate the information they find. They also make great efforts to improve their writing, syntax and spelling. Successfully writing a scientific article develops the girls' self-confidence and this accomplishment also gives them a sense of pride, thereby increasing their self-assurance in facing new challenges.

Special Project

Several special projects are carried out each year to allow girls to explore their interests and passions.

How do we build robots?
How do we program in Python?
Can we use science to make art?
Who were the first Canadian women scientists?

Activités scientifiques pour filles

Explorer ci-dessous les activités que nous animons chaque semaine! Une belle façon pour les filles d’exercer leur esprit scientifique tout en s’amusant!

Aide aux devoirs

Du lundi au jeudi, Les Scientifines offre une période d’aide aux devoirs d’environ 50 minutes, pendant laquelle les filles peuvent poser leurs questions, recevoir des explications sur certaines notions moins maîtrisées, apprendre des trucs pour mémoriser leurs leçons, apprendre à s’organiser pour étudier, etc.

Et comme on travaille mieux le ventre plein, les filles reçoivent une petite collation en arrivant à nos locaux!

Activités dirigées

Ce programme est offert durant l’année scolaire, sans frais, aux filles du 2e et 3e cycle du primaire. Il a pour but de faire la promotion des S&T tout en développant différentes compétences (ex. persévérance, curiosité, affirmation de soi, travail d’équipe, esprit critique, démarche scientifique, résolution de problèmes) chez les filles afin d’augmenter leur pouvoir sur leur vie et leurs chances d’accès aux carrières en sciences & technologies ou aux métiers traditionnellement masculins.

Expo-science Junior

Le projet Expo-Science est un projet ambitieux et très enrichissant pour les filles qui y participent. Elles doivent trouver un sujet, formuler une question et une hypothèse.  Les filles font ensuite des recherches sur leur sujet et préparent du matériel de présentation.  Un tel projet permet aux filles de développer plusieurs compétences dont la persévérance, la démarche scientifique, la rigueur, la synthèse de l’information, etc. Cette expérience est aussi une grande source de valorisation, car suite à un travail de longue haleine, les filles présentent, partagent et transmettent les nombreuses connaissances acquises aux visiteurs, dont leur famille, leurs camarades de classe et leurs enseignants.

Expos-Sciences Ados

Le programme Expo-Science Ados est un projet parascolaire, tous les lundis et vendredis de 16 h à 18 h, qui développe l’esprit critique, la débrouillardise et la persévérance chez les filles de niveau secondaire. Ces deux plages horaires permettent de respecter les disponibilités de chacune et favorise la participation d’un plus grand nombre de filles.
C’est une aventure qui leur permettra d’explorer en profondeur la démarche scientifique et de la vivre!

Journal scientifique

Ce programme s’adresse aux filles de la 5e et 6e année du primaire et à celles du secondaire.  L’objectif premier de ce programme est de permettre aux filles de développer un esprit critique et éthique face aux sciences et à leur application. 
Les filles font des recherches, synthétisent et valident l’information trouvée. Elles font aussi de grands efforts pour améliorer leur rédaction, leur syntaxe et leur orthographe. Réussir la rédaction d’un article scientifique développe chez les filles leur confiance en soi.  Cet accomplissement leur donne un sentiment de fierté, ce qui les rend plus confiantes pour affronter de nouveaux défis.

Projet spécial

Plusieurs projets spéciaux sont réalisés chaque année pour permettre aux filles d’explorer leurs intérêts et leurs passions.

Comment fabrique-t-on des robots?
Comment programme-t-on en Python?
Peut-t-on utiliser la science pour faire de l’art?
Qui sont les premières femmes scientifiques canadiennes?